Sign in to follow this  
6pointbuck2003

Line color?

I normly use cajun line. but i switched over to some p-line fluorocarbon for when i went south and fished some clearer water. i seem to be getting more bites now since the switch. What colors do yall prefer for different water clearities? is there ever a good time to switch over to red line?

In a nutshell, I use flouro on any bait that sinks .... regardless of water clarity. On other baits like topwater that don't sink, I use green.

I've never used red line before. Most days its clear of moss green. I've been known to use clear/blue for other situations.

I have noticed that on my frog rod I've got braided line (50 lb. Power-Pro.) It'll catch the hell out of 'em on top water, but as soon as you tie on a spinnerbait, crank, or anything that is submerged, its almost like the fish can see my line... and refuse to bite. If I switch rods and tie that same spinnerbait or crank to clear or translucent line, I'll usually see a difference. :)

Out of the stuff cajun line seems to be strong stuff thats why i use it. The only time i use braid is when i am flipping or pitching. it doesnt seem to work for anything else around me.

Over the years the 2 line colors that have stood the test of time for bass fishing are; clear and dull green. Florescent yellow, florescent blue, pink, red, coffee brown all have been hot at times.

The big unknown is; does line color affect the bass bite?

I use clear fluorocarbon and light green mono. I can see the clear fluoro better and use it for soft plastics and jigs. Mono for crankbaits, top water and spinnerbaits; it cast better, less expensive and reaction strikes are easy to detect.