Sign in to follow this  
newfish

reel oils

i've heard that not all reel oils mix? is this true? my reason for this is i had a reel that was cleaned by someone else...i believe they used hot sauce, after cleaning it. but i usually use ardent oil for regular relubing.

True, not all reel oils mix.

i've heard that not all reel oils mix?  is this true?  my reason for this is i had a reel that was cleaned by someone else...i believe they used hot sauce, after cleaning it.  but i usually use ardent oil for regular relubing.  
If they used Hot Sauce you would know for sure, parts would have a red stain on them. Either way before adding the oil you use you need to deep clean the reel first. Hot Sauce is a poly based oil.

Good Luck & Tight Lines!! s

thanks for the reply and advise. yeah there red stain over the reel. i guess i'm going to have to find out how to give it a deep cleaning. i've never done that before. does any one have a post or pics on it?

thanks for the reply and advise.  yeah there red stain over the reel.  i guess i'm going to have to find out how to give it a deep cleaning.  i've never done that before. does any one have a post or pics on it?
newfish,

If you have never done a complete break down of a reel then don't try. Look in your local yellow pages for a reel service shop in your area or ask your local tackle shop who does it for them.

If nothing there, goto the advertisers pages here and click my ad banner, I can do the job in about 2 days once I get the reel (just depends on how many I have on he bench).

Good Luck & Tight Lines!!!  

and  you cannot find a better man than reel mechanic  to do this job

you will be more than pleased.  you can take that to the bank kb

and you cannot find a better man than reel mechanic to do this job

you will be more than pleased. you can take that to the bank kb

X 1,000,000,000,000,000!