Sign in to follow this  
slickdub

Browning Lew Childre BB-1n Speed Spool

Anyone know anything about this reel? My grandfather gave me this a few years back. I don't think he ever used it. It looks brand spankin' new.

Basically should I go ahead and use it or Put it on the shelf as a keep sake?

Thanks,

PS. Its on the rod for transport haven't used that either. I have never used bait casting before. :-/

post-21524-130162928662_thumb.jpg

post-21524-130162928665_thumb.jpg

Those were great reels in their day.  I had one that got stolen.  I used it primarily as a spinnerbait reel.  I'd go ahead and use it, but be aware it will be difficult to replace should you lose it.

I have one of the original Lew Childre reels that was made by  Shimano before Shimano made reels , I have retired it.The reel you have there is a post Shimano made Ryobi ( I think).

Check this out

Shimano has been in business since 1921, as one of the world's foremost producers of bicycle gearing systems. However, their entry into the fishing tackle manufacturing world did not start until the mid-1970's when they began producing the Lew's Speed Spool for Lew Childre Co. of Foley, Alabama.

Shimano recognized many of the revolutionary ideas found in the Speed Spool and began developing a line of their own reels similar to the Speed Spool - the Original Bantams. Lew Childre soon broke relations with Shimano and in the late 1970's turned to Ryobi as a contract manufacturer of the Speed Spool.

Shimano introduced their Bantam line of reels in 1978 at the American Fishing Tackle Manufacturer's Association (AFTMA) trade show. They were an instantaneous hit and the Shimano floodgates were opened. Today, Shimano is one of the most recognized names in the fishing tackle world and their tackle lineup includes, rods, reels, baits, and accessories. This section will only delve into the history of their low profile casting reels.

T