Sign in to follow this  
new2BC4bass

Questions on Chronarch reels.

I'm new to baitcasting this year so my knowledge of bc reels is limited to what I read. One of the reels I've wanted to try is the 201E7. What I've purchased so far is an 09 STX and 4 Daiwas, 50th, ito and 2 Fuegos. I like them all, but still want to try a Shimano.

Normally newer is better as technology marches on, but we all know that isn't always true. How do the Chronarchs compare to the E7? Is one Chronarch model better than the others?

What would a NIB CH101BSV be worth? Are the Bantam Chronarch 101A reels still good by today's standards? How about the Chronarch SH101SF? What would be a fair price for these two reels if in good condition?

I've nothing against new reels, and in fact desperately want a 2010 Premier (it's more than I can justify spending), but do have a liking for some of the older equipment provided it performs well. Costing less is also a big factor given the huge cut in pay I had to take last year.

However saving a few bucks on something I wouldn't be happy with is NOT a good use of funds.

I realize that Shimano makes better reels than the Chronarch, but they would be out of my price range even when used. For that matter, checking on ebay reveals that many of the Chronarchs are going for much more than I can afford. I'm hoping that I'll get lucky! ;D ;D Provided of course that you feel they are still worth owning.

EDIT:  Happened to remember that some lines aren't going to have parts available for repairing.  Do the Chronarchs fall in this group?

I would strongly recommend the Chronarch 50 mg, if you can find one in good shape.  They are discontinued but are one of my fav's.  You can find them from  $180-225.

I have the Chronacrh bpv 101, and the Curado 301E.