Sign in to follow this  
Big Fish Rice

Technique specific

I have finally made the switch to all baitcasting equipment. Here's where I would like some input:

I currently have a 6'6" Compre Rod, Medium Power, Fast Action for 8-17lb line. It's been my multipurpose rod and works great with my Citica 201E for plastics, jigs, and light cranks.

I have a swimbait setup waiting in the works, just need to go and handle each one to verify my interests. So, this will be my second setup for heavy gear.

I need help with choosing another baitcast setup. Since I have the medium setup already mentioned above (Compre/Citica), what other combo would you recommend and for what technique?

I like the Crucial series from Shimano, but have been wanting to try the new Quantum Smoke lineup. Price range $300 for rod and reel.

Help me make up my mind!

What other lures do you want to fish besides the ones you already have listed?

I use a different rod for for jigs, plastics, and cranks, but if you are satisfied with your rod for all of these, I would stick with it.

You could get a rod for deep divers or spinnerbaits or something else.

Well, I'm staying with the 6'6" setup for now just due to financial restraints. I understand it's not the most ideal for what I have listed, but I have no other option.

I suppose I'm looking for a more efficient crankbait/spinnerbait setup. I realize that most own different combinations for these two techniques, but my hand is forced to compromise.

I know I'm looking at a 7' medium or medium heavy, I am merely trying to see what works for others as an efficient setup.

I would stay with the medium power rod you have right now for crankbaits although it's not ideal.

I use a 6'9" MH Vendetta for my spinnerbait and jig rod and it is working great for me. It's paired with a 7.1:1 BPS Pro Qualifier.

This set-up is well below your budget and is great for the price.

EDIT. I think they have the rod in 7' too, but not certain.