Sign in to follow this  
masscj7

Vacation to NC, might fish and suggestions

Hey guys,

First off I'm a newbie on the forums here and this will be my  first post. I'm actually from the Northeast, but next week I'll be vacationing in North Carolina, actually on Oak Island, near Southport. I can't think of a better way to spend some vacation time other than fishing, and I would love the chance to land some of those Carolina largemouths that I hear so much about, the bass up here don't get that big usually.

My question is can anyone suggest some places to go within probably an hour drive of the Oak Island area that has some good public access fishing. I will not have my boat, so its either shore casting or if there are any places that do rental. I do have my own gear. Thanks for any info anyone can provide and what a well of knowledge this forum is!

derek

Derek,

All I can suggest is to be sure to have a freshwater and a saltwater fishing license for North Carolina.

To be on the safe side.

Sorry, but we will have to let the Tarheels out there give you suggestions on where to fish.

Just have those licenses.

I've heard Lake Sutton outside of Wilmington is good for largemouths and catfish. I know the lake has alot of timber in it. I'm not sure how the bank fishing is though. (Beware, there are Alligators.)  ;)  ;D

If you want to try saltwater fishing, you are in a great location for it. Ocean Crest Peir (http://www.oceancrestpier.net/) is very nice. You could try bottom fishing for Flounder, Pompano, and Whiting or fish Got-cha plugs for Spanish Mackeral and Blues.

Southport is also a very nice place to visit.