Sign in to follow this  
DTMJ

New guy...Looking for some ponds in Harrisonburg

I am new at this...i go to school in Harrisonburg, I really need to get out and fish.  I really want to just hit up a local pond or lake.  I know its too cold to really hope for much. I just need to get out there with my pole and relax. Any help would be great.

Thanks

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/fishing/waterbodies/display.asp?id=116

The fishing isn't as bad as the first page would have you think.  It's actually pretty good.  I have a friend who's son goes to JMU and he fishes it and likes it quite a bit.  There are some big, honkin' muskies in the lake, too.

Honestly, I've never had much in the way of luck there.  I don't honestly know of too many places on this side of the blue ridge to fish other than some local ponds I have access to.

DTMJ, are you a fellow JMU Duke? I'm a senior so I only have until May but we can get together and fish if you would like. I plan on fishing as much as I can when the weather gets warm again.

I haven't done very well at Lake Shenandoah and with the weed mats dying off now with the cold water I don't really know where you would start, especially from shore.

I usually fish the North River in Bridgewater. I did pretty well down there when the water was warm. There are some good size pike down there as well-they may still be active.

I honestly don't know of any water other than the rivers and Lake Shenandoah. Oh, and there's always Newman Lake on campus. There are bass in there but they can really shut down sometimes and become very difficult to catch.