Sign in to follow this  
Siebert Outdoors

Any Drywall finishers?

What is the best way to fix nails on drywall that come through tape?

I was thinking about just hammering them in and going over them with mud.  But I dont want it to pop back out.  Is there a better option?

Thanks

What is the best way to fix nails on drywall that come through tape?

I was thinking about just hammering them in and going over them with mud. But I dont want it to pop back out. Is there a better option?

Thanks

I am not a pro, but screws are the only way to fly. JMHO

Ronnie

I will call my buddy tonight if you don't have your answer. He dose that for a living.

I will call my buddy tonight if you don't have your answer. He dose that for a living.

Thanks alot.

I am not a pro, but I have remodeled quite a few homes and as a result I have installed and repaired a lot of drywall in the last 25 years.  I had similar problems in my current home so I cut the tape where the nail head is popping out, removed the nail and then placed a screw nearby it and then covered the area with mud and it has always worked out well.  I have done entire seams this way and they look good and you can not tell that a repair was done.  I hope this helps.

I have never finished drywall but I have hung a lot of drywall and have never used a nail. Everything that goes up now is screwed. I would remove the nail and replace with a screw and just mud over top. You won't have any problems with a screw.

I'm not a drywall finisher, but I am a homebuilder who has had to deal with drywall repair.