Sign in to follow this  
coachkiss

Getting son started fishing tournaments...

My son is 10 and has been hounding me for a year to sign us up in a Father/Son Tournament or just as a team.  Here are my concerns:

1.  I'm not that good with my boat yet.  I have fished it twice.  

2.  He thrives on competition, but he also enjoys catching fish.  Is it harder to catch fish during tournaments?  Is it due to pressure?  Nerves?

3.  I'm looking for one day events in North Texas.  

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

First off, WELCOME!

As for tournaments.

1. Who cares how good you are with the boat can you catch fish out of it? I've never been in a tournament where they gave out extra credit for boat control.

2. I don't believe it's necessarily harder to catch fish in a tournament. The only thing that poses a problem is if your on a lake you are familiar with, and your spots are well know, you might have some of the tourney guys sitting on them when you get there, or have fished them. And forget about things you hear about what is working or where they are biting fish with what you are comfortable with, and the way you are comfortable with.

3. You might want to check out the Fisher Of Men National Tournament Trail for northern Texas and contact them to see if your son can fish it. (Those under 18 years of age may participate with written permission from a parent or guardian.)

http://www.fomntt.com/

Or contact some local tackle shops and see if anyone is running some less expensive Father/Son tournaments.

Just do it have fun and think of the memorys you will have. I have twin boy's that are 5 I can not wait to go out on a tourney with them!! Bad day or good day out on the water is time well spent with your kids.

You are right about the lower entry fees.  Our local BPS has a Tuesday night tournament every Tuesday.  I thought about it.  I'm willing to pay to learn, but I would like cheaper lessons.