Sign in to follow this  
bassman22

fishing Rainy Days

Hello,

It just got done raining here for 3 days the river is up.

I was wonder would it be good to fish when the river is up? (Any Info On this would be great)

And if so where should I look for bass when the rivers up? (Any Info On this would be great)

And what kind of lures to use when the rivers up?

(Any Info On this would be great)

Any help would be thank full thanks...................

If the water is warm enough, usually rising water gets the fish to go shallower--new cover and new forage.  Find'em with a spinnerbait and flip all that new cover.

All right, you know I mostly fish the Tennessee River, so here's my take:

If it's muddy stay home. Sorry man, I apparantly don't know how to catch fish in muddy water. I've tried, it doesn't work for me.

If it's just high, I have lots of experience there. Now I saw the post recommending you fish closer to the bank because the fish are up there feeding. Well, that's never been my experience. I fish deeper, 5-15 feet out from where the river bank usually is. Yep, out in the middle! I find smallmouth relating to the same structure in high water as they were in the normal, stable water. I don't fish for largemouth on the river, maybe they are shallow, I don't know.

Baits/ lures? What ever you have had success with. I don't think high water effects lure selection, but then, I fish live shinners on the river for smallmouth, so what do I know?  

If the water is muddy,you'll need to fish a bait that's a real bright color or that is really loud (or both).Muddy and cold water is not a good thing.Living in the deep South,I rarely experience both of these conditions at once,but I bet our Northern bassin' brothers could educate you on that.

Hello,

It just got done raining here for 3 days the river is up.

I was wonder would it be good to fish when the river is up? (Any Info On this would be great)