Sign in to follow this  
Captain Cali

All Small?

I've been fishing a private lake for the past 2 months in hopes of catching the bigger bass in there and learning new techniques. The problem is I can't seem to break the 3 pound mark. I've caught some up to 3-1 and seen a 4 but nothing bigger. Most of the bass I catch are 1-8 to 2-8. Not many smaller or bigger. The place is great for numbers but not size. I've tried everything from cranks, jerkbaits, spinnerbaits, topwater, all sorts of soft plastics, and even swimbaits. All the same. These fish all seem like clones!! I'm getting to the point that I don't think there are many, if any, 5+ pound bass in there. Is that possible? I have to research the age of this lake because I don't know how old it is or when it was filled with bass.

The good part is I'm learning a lot and gaining huge amounts of confidence in soft plastics. Over the past 2 weeks I haven't really thrown anything else!

Heck,just go to the nearest trout stream,jerk a few dozen out and chuck 'em in the lake.Those bass will grow like crazy.

Seriously,it could be that there are too many bass in that particular water and competition for food is a problem.That happened at a pond my buddy owns.They initially stocked 5,000 bass fry with the hopes that 2,000 would live.They did.Now there is not one fish in that pond that is over 14-15".......biologist says there are too many bass and recommended harvesting some each trip.

Just an idea.I dont know your whole situation.