Sign in to follow this  
Snakemover

Catching bass during feeding

Hi. I'm new to this board, but I've been reading it for a few weeks. A friend took me fishing last year and I got hooked. I'm still learning about bass. Reading the posts and articles here has helped a lot, but I had a strange experience the other day. I saw shad feeding at the surface and they would occasionally splash and change direction. I'm guessing there was a bass under them. I tried using a top popper with no luck. I tried a 1/2 oz rat-L-trap and a Rappala DT-10 shad with no luck either. I even threw a plastic worm and got nothing. I'm fishing in Mt. Ilse Lake in NC. It an 80 year old reservoir with clear water and no grass. I was in a cove with the water ranging down to 25 feet. I would throw the lure past the bait school and reel it back through them. I tried different speeds and depths and had no luck. Can anyone tell me what I was doing wrong? Or better yet, how to do it right? I don't have the depth finder mounted yet, so I'm using a topo map and looking for structure and other things you folks talk about here. Thanks for the help.

Dennis

SnakeMover,    first off, Welcome to the forum.      Are you sure it was shad on top of the surface?

HOOkem

Matt

Yes, the school came close to the boat a few times. Little silver guys about 1.5 - 2 inches long.

Also, I keep hearing about fishing deep for bass during the heat. How deep is deep? The lake I fish is 60 feet at its deepest. What depth is the best to catch bass during a really hot day?

Welcome Snake!  Can't really help you as far as boat fishing, as I'm a bank fisherman....  :(

Look on your topo for steep drop offs or points. Fish will usually rest on these. Say at one point it is 5 feet of water then the next topo line you see is 25, go there! Always look for structure and skipping a plastic worm under docks can be very procutive during hot days.