Sign in to follow this  
bassenmike

Hook left in the Fish

bassen' mike here,

I am new to this so bare with me.  I could not find a post about this so I am asking if anyone knows what happens when a bass breaks off and stays with the hook?  

What should I do in a case when I gut hook a bass?  I try like hell to make sure this doesnt happen but it has when I was not paying attention?

I have loads of other questions because I have been bass fishing for years and am only recently starting to have any real success.  But I will search the posts before I do

It happens to everyone...Especially when Carolina Rigging.  If you do encounter a fish that is deep hooked, if you can see the point and barb you can always cut the barb and reverse the hook.  

I had a good solid 3.5lb LM this summer get hooked in the outer edge of the gullet.  The problem was that when I got the fish in, she tried to swallow the lizard and in turn kept the hook in a positon where I couldn't do anything with it.  So I cut the line and put the fish in the live well.  About 10 mins later I got the fish out and she had spit the lizard out enough to where I could get the lizard off.  I also had enough room to back the hook out, fish swam off no blood and no floating fish.

here is a link to an article that was in In-Fisherman about the very subject:

http://www.in-fisherman.com/magazine/articles/if2806_HookRemoval/index.html

If you can...pick up a hook cutter so that you can snip off the barb end (if possible) and remove all the hook/bait you have left.

I was always told that the hook would desolve from whats in the fishes system??

any one ever heard this ?? Or is this a nother fish story?

Perhaps in 1932 a hook rusted away quickly, however today a hook left in will be there for a long time. In most cases it will not stop the fish from continuing to eat, however learning to remove the hook is really quite easy and should be learned by everyone.