Sign in to follow this  
zeppy

the morning bite

i was just wondering when do the bass start biting in the morning.  do  they not stop all night through the morning or go off and on.  Im asking this because i know people have good luck with night fishing, and right after the night is the morning, so do bass take a break or what??

i was just wondering when do the bass start biting in the morning. do they not stop all night through the morning or go off and on. Im asking this because i know people have good luck with night fishing, and right after the night is the morning, so do bass take a break or what??

You answered your own question. :)

I'm no fishing pro, but I do know that I have read a hundred times that predator game fish will "Actively feed", which means they will go out hunting for food, in low light conditions. This means early morning when they sun is low, late in the day when the sun is low, at night, or on overcast days. This is because fish fear predators such as birds or carvivorous mammals, and during high light periods they feel visible and vulnerable to attack. This is why during blue sky sunny days, fishing cover is essential. Bass will seek out wood or vegatation to hide in, or docks, rockpiles, deeper water(the more water above them means the more light that gets filtered out by that water. This doesn;t mean bass won't feed during these high light times, they will just not be swimming around in search of food. Instead they will find a comfortable safe place and wait for an unsuspecting victim to swim by and they will ambush it and return back to their cover. This is why most people find it harder to catch fish onbright sunny day or high pressure days as they are called(the pressure refers to the barometric pressure, look it up if you dont know about this since it is very important in fish behavior) The fishing is tough because unless you present your bait or lure with in a short distance of the fish, they are not going to venture out very far