Sign in to follow this  
drmnbig

Recommend me a lifejacket.

I'm planning on buying an inflatable life jacket this year.  I've been fishing off a  bassboat for 13 years and have been lucky enough not to fall in but I know it will eventually happen.  It wouldn't be so bad but I'm not the most competent swimmer.  In the hot summer sun I HATE wearing a normal lifejacket because I sweat like a hog.  I'm hoping an inflatable will make me wear it more often.  Also, I'm no small chicken.  I weight in at over 320lbs and 6'5".  Will just the average inflatable be enough to float me?  

I'm no expert in this field but there are auto inflate and manual inflate ones.  I think the manual ones are useless because if you fall over and get knocked out, what good is it?

I would highly recommend the Mustang Hydrostatic. They are expensive but will only inflate if they are immersed approximately 4 inches. They will not inflate due to rain, humidity, etc., like the regular auto inflates. That's why I bought mine. If I couldn't wear it in all conditions, it wouldn't do me any good. I wear it all the time, even in the summer, and forget I have it on. I have worn one of these for several years in all conditions and can vouch for them. As a matter of fact, a year ago I had a steering malfunction and was thrown out of my boat while wearing my Mustang. It worked perfectly and literally saved my life.