Sign in to follow this  
bassmajor

Does the female always stay close to the bed?

I am new to this great sport but have been reading ALOT over the winter. In most articles about the spawn I have read that the female typically stays within a close proximity (sp) to the bed. A few months ago I watched In Fisherman TV and Doug Stange was fishing beds in Texas (maybe some of you have seen that episode). The local guide he was with said something I hadn't heard before. He said, "Only the males are here in this spawning area right now but the females move in every once in a while", implying that the females spent most of the time away from the spawning area.

So which is typical behavior? Are the females nearby most of the time or do I have to "hit it on the right day" to have a shot a female? Does increased fishing pressure push the females out of the area leaving the males alone on the spawning grounds?  Do the females leave after so many days after they spawn out?  Sorry for so many questions but I haven't been able to find the answers to them anywhere.

Conventional knowledge indicates that the male bass builds the nest, fans it out and guards it (zealously). Generally, a good male that is aggressive and active will attract more than one female to his nest and spawn with each of them. Along with that, an active female will spawn a number of times and, in most cases, in a number of different males' nests. She moves down the shoreline making it with different males. The male sits in one spot and waits for more females to come by. I think that is sort of a hedge (on the part of the female) against an infertile male spoiling the hatch of a good fertile female. So she spread her eggs around and he spreads his fertility around. That ensures a higher success rate for that spawn.