Hez

"Hybrid" cranking rod - for all types of cranking?

Ok - so I searched the forums for this - because I know this type of question has probably been asked 100 different times, but I couldn't find anything related to what I'm looking for - and with the summertime here - and the need to go deeper is apparent - I decided to ask this question anyway.

Is there an all around cranking rod - that works for shallow and deep cranking applications?  I had 6'6" medium action rod that was my cranking rod, and I lost the setup due to an unfortunate incident on the water yesterday - rod, reel, lure and all. :( 

So in my quest to replace said equipment, it brought me to wonder about the "hybrid" rod.  

I am not that experienced in deep cranking - but am reading a MH 7'6" rod is about where I would want to start looking - that seems too heavy for a shallow cranking rod.  Is this true?  

Thanks for any input offered. 

Edited by hezeez@gmail.com
grammar check

Its not too heavy for shallow cranking. As long as the MH rod has a moderate enough action you well be ok. That rod may be a little long for use in close quarters and such, but more manageable than trying to deep crank with a noodle rod. 

• Like 1

Deep craning requires a dedicated rod if you fish it a lot. However, most guys don't and what ever you are currently using for jigs will be fine. I think you would be better served getting a 6 /2'  Medium Power/ Moderate Action rod that can be used for most treble hook lures: shallow to medium depth crankbaits, topwater and jerkbaits.

:fishing-026: 

• Like 1

MH etc are subjective terms. The rods versatility depends on the weights you want to cast and the Rod itself. Personally I prefer very different rods for the shallowest and deepest baits. For versatility a 7' moderate glass Rod with a lure range of 1/4-3/4 is what I'd look for. 

• Like 1