Largies4Life

Line for Finesse and Jig Setups

Good Morning All!

I recently got a 7'4" M/F Daiwa Tatula Elite paired with a Daiwa Ballistic LT and was planning on using this setup for shakey heads, weightless senkos, wacky rig, lightweight t-rigs, etc. and was curious about what line to throw on this reel. I've never used braid to leader before and am a bit skeptical. My main worry is that my knot will break. In addition, I fish a lot of stained water (visibility 4-5ft), and a lot of crystal clear water (visibility 20+ ft). My thoughts have been either go with straight fluoro, or go with braid and use just the braid in stained water and throw a leader on when I fish the clear waters. What're your thoughts/recommendations?

I also got a jig specific rod (7'2" MH/F Expride with a Chronarch MGL) and am under the same predicament. I will be throwing a lot of casting jigs, swim jigs, and football jigs primarily on this rod. I've read a lot of people on here using braid to leader again with jig fishing as well, but I am wondering if I should just go with fluoro for this rather than braid since I won't be punching heavy cover with these jigs?

What're your overall thoughts/recommendations on what pound test, brands, etc. I should go with for these setups? What do you all currently use? Thank you all in advance!

Many anglers use and enjoy flouro with great success.  I am not one of them.  There is no perfect fishing line, they all have shortcomings.  My reasons for disdain toward flouro are likely the same as anybody else that dislikes it.

My preference would be 50 lb braid for main line, not because you will need 50 lb test strength, that would be crazy, but because it's easy to see, and manage.

I'd tie on a mono leader with 10-12 lb strength for finesse and 15 lb otherwise.  If you are absolutely positive you don't want to use braid to leader, Big Game mono is excellent line and very affordable.