Sign in to follow this  
retiredbosn

1st boat, mystery leak, mystery solved

Hello all, first time poster long time lurker. Anyway I recently purchased my first fiberglass boat a 1980 Hydrasports 168SX, has a 1987 Johnson 110 and a 1992 motorguide trolling motor. As a disabled vet I didn't want to put a lot of money into a boat until I knew it was something that I could enjoy, without causing any additional pain. Anyway I got the boat for 800 bucks which I thought was a good deal, all the wood has been replaced including the stringers and transom, roughly 2-3 years ago. The hull is in good condition, the intake and discharge lines on the livewell are pretty old. Anyway after getting the boat I have repainted it and got the cosmetics acceptable, replaced the seats and stuff like that. Put in the water for the first time last weekend and all went well for about 2 hours, no leaks, ran great etc. I decided to test the reverse and while underway at idle I reversed the engine and traveled about 50 yds or so, after this the hull was full of water. I am assuming the water came in the discharge line for the livewell, it is blown and the fitting itself leaks. FWIW when I took it out of the lake all of the water stayed inside the hull, none of it leaked out!! This one thing has me really confused, I mean if there was a hole the water should have run back out, as it was I needed to remove the plug and drain the boat that way, took about 15 minutes. Is there anything else besides the livewell lines and fittings that I need to look for? The transom seems to be solid with no worrisome cracks, there is one at the top where the wood was replaced, nothing along the side or bottom. I guess there could be a hole under the trailer wood and will check that when I put it back in the water, hopefully tomorrow. FWIW I was in the Coast Guard for 7 years and ran boats as my full time job while on active duty (that is how I broke my back), but this leak has me sorta puzzled. When I put the bo