Sign in to follow this  
ShaunML09

Questions about Spinning Rod/Lures - New to this

Hi, thanks for the great resource.  I am fairly new at this.  I just caught my first bass last weekend using some old equipment that was lying around my GF's lake house in Maine. I used a jitterbug as I was told the bass were biting at everything.  We are going back Thursday and I would like to have my own good stuff, with a better idea of what I am doing.  Turns out its my birthday this week so I got free reign to buy some new stuff.  

I am buying a spinning rod because well...I know how to spin cast :P  I need it to be multipurpose because I will only be buying 1.    I will be fishing mainly from the dock, and it has some good areas around it with cover, plants etc...and a few shallow areas that I can reach by canoe. I have read a ton on this site, and through the forum trying to make my way to figure out what the hell I am doing.  One problem is that I need it before Thursday so it has to be available locally...thankfully cabellas just moved in next to me in scarborough maine.  Sadly, the don't have the St. Croix Avid 70 MH in stock so it wouldn't be here till next week.  Hell I would have bought a IMX if they had that in stock too...or anywhere in Maine(apparently they don't sell up here)

I guess my decision boils down to the 6'6" Crucial CRS66MH or the Crucial CRS70MH .... thoughts?  Cabellas might have the St. Croix Legend if you think that's worth the money?  I plan on using senko(original and swimmers), crankbaits and jerkbaits, as well as the jitterbug or topwaters.  

As for a reel, I was going to for the Shimano Stradic 2500MGFB...Will that work well for those rods?  Or does it depend?