Sign in to follow this  
ManInBlack

Newbie Needs Help With Rod/Reel Choice

Hello all. I'm a newbie to the forum here and need some advice on what rod & reel I should purchase. I've used a spinning reel for pretty much my whole life and am now ready to get a baitcast reel. I've been looking at the Shimano Curado D Series reels and really like what I've read on them. I will pretty much be using my rod & reel setup for just bass fishing. What model of the Curado would be best for my purposes? Also, what rod would be a good balance with the Curado? I'll be using my setup with a wide assortment of lures such as spinners, crankbaits, plastic worms and topwater lures. I'd like to spend somewhere in the $350 range for my setup. Suggestions??

Thanks in advance for any advice and it's great to be here!

Welcome aboard!

Great deals pop up on our Flea Market all of the time, so that's where I would look for both the rod and reel. If you want a new rod, I would recommend the St. Croix Avid AVC70MF:

http://www.reedssports.com/Product/product.taf?_function=detail&_ID=13260

The new Curado will be introduced shortly, so you might want to wait. Otherwise, the current models will be dramatically discounted shortly.

There are currently a few for sale in the Flea Market.

Good luck!

8-)

The new ones are lighter......and greener.  They'd look really nice on green GLX (BCRs) and should perform very well.  BCRs are also on the Flea Market once in a while....

I'd wait but it that is easier said than done.....

Preview of new Curado:

http://www.tackletour.com/reviewcuradociticapreview09.html

Shimano crucial or a powell from tackle warewhouse i've never heard anything bad about powell or dobyns nither the crucial and should all go well with your curado 7' mh mod fast action

The St. Croix premier and Avids are great choices and so is the Legend Tournament if you want to spend the extra cash.