Sign in to follow this  
crankbait2009

Reels offered at Bass Pro Shopps - advice on the better one

below are a couple model numbers to Pro Qualifier Baitcaster reels that bass pro shop have to offer that i have been eye balling.   ::)

has anyone used either one of the bait casters?  is it worth the money and which one would you take over the other, and why?

if you have read my other posts, i am VERY new at fishing and would like a baitcasting rod/reel that will last me a long time. (in the $100 ball park).  i know this is only a reel minus the rod but just trying to weigh my options

Pro Qualifier

#PQX10S - 5.2:1 - Clearance $69.77

#PQX10HD - 6.4:1 - NEW $99.99

#PQX10SHD - 7.1:1 - NEW $99.99

The older one comes only in 5.3:1, for cranking I would get the new 6.4:1, thats a great reel and they upgraded it a bit. My friend Gene has one I threw it a bit, I liked it better than the older model. I HAVE NOT USED IT LONG TERM, you should wait to see if someone with more experience using both reels chimes in .

The "Extreme" is a great reel man. On sale now for about $65 too. Good longevity too. Muddy gave me one of the ETX05 model ones, it's become one of my favorite reels.

speaking of extreme................BPS has extreme spinning reels on sale for $40

im looking for paitcasters but  just thought id pass on the info  :)

I love the Extreme Baitcasters but that spinning reel, the new gold one is the biggest disapointment ever from BPS, the reel is not sturdy, it has numerous points for the line to get under the spool , AND IT DOES and I gave it to a kid. I was curious how it would compare to a Flooger President, it was trash,

As far as I can see, the new Pro Qualifier is a lot like the Extreme.  Both are 7 bearing reels, both are built on the same frame design and should be roughly the same size (I say roughly cause the Rick Clunn looked like it would have been too, but when I ordered it, it was somewhat larger bodywise, and I could tell as I held it).