Sign in to follow this  
auburn bass man

How about a comparison

Theres two main reels that I have my eye on.  The Revo STX and the Shimano Curado.  I have no experience with Abu Garcia reels but shimano has always served me well.  But for close to the same price (e bay) tell me your thoughts on the two.  I appreciate the help.

Jake

After fishing with the Revo STX for several years now, and seeing the Curado E in action, and trying it a time or two myself, I'd go with the Revo.  In fact, I'd go with a Quantum over the current Curado.

From my experience, the Revo is much more substantial.  Break them both down and you'll see what I mean.  The Revo has more robust gearing and other components.   The STX has aluminum sideplates, aluminum spool tension knob, and steel levelwind shroud.  All plastic on the Curado E.  Attention to detail inside the reel is another telling point.  Where the Revo is meticulously machined, the Curado looks distinctively cast, unlike like its predecessor, the 200D.  The Revo has a drag the Curado simply cannot match.   The Revo is as smooth, and cast just as well.  In fact, the Revo casts light baits as well, and I think it handles heavier baits better.   The brake is far easier to adjust than the Curado.  The Curado E has a really low profile, and may be slightly lighter.  But the corners Shimano cut to get there are very evident.  I don't know what it is about this reel that suggests it should cost $180.  

The Curado is even less substantial than the Revo S, which is $60 less expensive.   I suppose, in large part, you are paying for the name.

I'm betting you are going to get some passionate answers.  I suggest you take a close look at these reel, beyond the logo painted on them, and see which reel has the guts to take you 10 years down the road.