Sign in to follow this  
AHBasser

Secondary Points??

I have heard of people catching good fish on these points.  Can you define for me what they are and how to locate them.  I am just getting started and trying to learn as much as possible.

Great question, AHB, I've often wondered that myself.  I've got one of those foldout Hotspots maps of a lake I'll be fishing in a couple months and would also like to know how to spot a secondary point.

Secondary points are most commonly found on creek channels that feed into the main channel.There are main lake points which I refer to as points that are formed on the main lake channel,which usually is the deeper channel running along the lake.These points will drop of into the deep water of the main channel.Secondary points are points that will form on the smaller channels that aren't as deep,these channels usually feed into the main channel at some point.Secondary points are commonly found 1/4 to 1/2 the way back of a larger bays.They may also be found close to the main lake but won't drop off into the main channel.Hope this helps.  CJ

Originally, primary and secondary points were terms used for impoundments (manmade lakes).

In the beginning, a "primary" point was a shoreline protuberance in the river channel,

and a "secondary" point was a shoreline protuberance in the creek channel. Occasionally

they were totally submerged and not visible in the outline of the lake. Because the river channel

is involved, points formed by the merger of a creek and river channel were deemed primary points.

Over the years however, those terms have become convoluted. Today, you'll read articles

that refer to large prominent points as primary, and smaller, less prominent points as secondary,

wherever they may occur. You might say that primary and secondary have now become judgment calls,

yet another victim of semantics.