Sign in to follow this  
BassKing813

Shiner Fishing Help

I'm new to shiner fishing (only used em once) and I have a few questions about it.

1. What size float should I use?

2. When fishing them under a float, how should I hook them?

3. When trolling, how should I hook them?

4. Is a flippin stick with 50lb test braid too heavy to use?

5. If I'm fishing clear water, what pound test would you recommend?

This is the setup I will use: Daiwa Procyon heavy action flippin' stick, Ambassadeur 5500 reel, 50lb test braided Spiderwire.

Also, should I have my drag set kind of loose?

If the knowledgeable fishermen of this site could answer these questions and provide me with any other tips for shiner fishing, it would be a big help. Thanks.

I use 12lb line, on a 7ft mediem rod. I put a bobber about 4' up the line, then a small splitshot about 2ft under that. I tend to use a smaller hook, so it doesnt weight the shiner down.

I catch alot of nice crappies and pickerel this way. It is fun to do while you are bass fishing.

I depends a lot on whether you are fishing for BIG fish or little fish. If you fish shiners for MONSTER smallmouth, this is the answer:

Spinning tackle, MF

Yo-Zuri Hybrid Ultra Soft #6

Gamakatsu Octopus Circle Hooks #6

I fish them on a split shot rig. Hook the minnow through the bottom lip and through the top to keep them alive. Cast softly and let the minnow do the work, do NOT play the bait.

No float, no trolling and lose the braid.

Flipping? Not.

I probably should have specified what type of bass I am fishing for and where. I'm going for monster largemouth here in Florida. A lot of vegetation and wood cover is present, and the lakes are generally the same depth everywhere.

Oops!

Can't help, but I suspect George Welcome can. If he doesn't respond here, send him a PM. George is one of the top guides in the country (especially for Florida) and a great guy to boot. I know he will have the answer for you.

I fish a shiner a few different ways.