Sign in to follow this  
mroe

AZ Beginner - What to start with?

I live in Arizona, I mainly fish in Lake Pleasent and Bartlett. Water temps right now are around 66. I have a few crank baits along with some Rubber worms to make Carolina and Texas rigs, plus a couple of Buzz baits. I'm pretty confused at this point as to what to use when. People refer to everything from water temp, clearity, time of year, what lake, etc. Is it really all the complicated? I have 1 $250.00 gift card for my local Cabala's and what to buy what every works. Can someone reccomend some good things to buy? I have an Ambassador bait casting reel, an open face, and a closed face. Not even sure which one to use with all the oppinions out there. I'm using 10lb test. I sure could use some good common sence advise as where to start. [smiley=allears.gif

at the very top of this page, click on "Fishing Articles"...there you will find everything you want to know from beginners to advanced angling.

Good Luck

Jason

I agree with what NEbassMan has said.  The articles on the site are full of priceless info.

And...Welcome to the forum!  

Do you fish from a boat?? I would start with some Sinko's. Ask the guy at cabelas for what colors and size. I started out with a chrome rattle trap and a spinning outfit moved up to soft placics and a bait caster. Look around on this sight lots of info here. Just don't get overwelmed by all of it..

good luc k      

I agree, check into Senkos, you might find them alttle pricey but be gentle rigging em up and there well worth it. Kinami baits make the exact same thing as the Senko but call it a different name. There alittle cheaper. Search the word Senko in here and youll get all you need for this versatile bait.