Sign in to follow this  
kms399

ok the fish have moved deep...now what.

I have been doing pretty good so far this summer I have been averaging at least 1 bass at 20" almost every time i go out which for minnesota is pretty good. The problem is lately all I have been catching are dinks which to me means they have moved deep, and I am not very good at fishing deep. I have been trying trigs- and jigs with a zoom chunk for a trailer will varied results. I just cannot get the hang of carolina rigs is there something else you suggest or should I force myself to stick with one thing untill i get it. I don't have alot of time to get out only on sundays for abuot 8 hours so I would like to catch as many fish as possible in that time.

any help is greatly appreciated.

Rattle'traps- and craink bait, I get fooled alot with craink baits. As I know your suppose to do very well with it but, I struggle with it. Have a hard time feeling with it.

Learn how to locate/read deep water structure and then attack it with T-rigs and Jigs  ;)

T-Rigs, heavy jigs and carolina rigs are your best bet unless they are in 20' or less of water then a crankbait will be another alternative. Finding the right structure is key and if that structure also has cover on it you should be on them. Use a high floating rubber for your Carolina rig and make sure it will float the size hook you are using. This is something a lot of people learning to use a C-Rig neglect. A heavy hook with a plastic that sinks will defeat the method all together. You'll just be dragging your plastic across the bottom. Good Luck  :)

Great advise so far. When bass go deep. I head for the deep end of long points and humps on the main lake and large creeks. My favorate cover is deep (green) grass. I idle around with my fishfinder on, a marker bouy in my hand and my GPS ready to mark. When I locate bass I fish them with a Drop Shot Rig, Jig and C-Rig with at least a 24inch leader.