Sign in to follow this  
BassChump

Absolute Newbie to Bass fishing

I just bought an old bass boat on a whim and I don't have a clue as to what to do, how to fish. Not only fish for bass but even fishing in general. I lost my wife in a car accident a few years ago and I haven't done a thing to enjoy my family for the last 5 years.

I bought this boat so I could enjoy some quality time with my 14 year old daughter and I want to know what I can do to make her time on the water more enjoyable so she can have some good memories of growing up with dear old dad.

So can you guys help me out a bit????

I live in Florence Oregon. One of the, if not the best fishing area on the west coast. We have great salmon fishing, crabbing, clamming, a great river that flows thru the middle of town but best of all, we have well over 25 lakes within 10 minutes of town. 2 of them in particular are known for being great bass lakes. Siltcoos lake and Tachenich lake.

I have taken the boat out on a lake that is 2 minutes from my office and while I have caught a few small bass on the only lure I had at the time, I know it can get much better. Just a gold blue fox. I had a great time but I'm looking for my daughter to catch some fish and have a good time. We haven't done that in a long time and hence my decision to get the boat. It's not fancy but it works. It's just an old Bayliner but it does have everything the new boats has including the foot operated trolling motor up front. I got it really cheap because the guy couldn't get the engine to work correctly and since I'm a pretty fair mechanic, I took a chance and bought it with the intention of selling it and making some money. Turns out it was just a dollar part. I installed a new fuel pump diaphram and it runs great. I took it out on one of the many lakes around here and I'm hooked now but I am hoping to learn how to bass fish and have some fun with my daughter.

Remember, we are as new to this as it gets so I'd appreciate any help.