Sign in to follow this  
IDbasser

Why would anyone...

want to go catch LM when SM are an option, besides having bigger fish for tourneys? ::)  I have been fishing for smallies for several years here in Idaho, and I caught some LM last night.  The smallies fight WAY HARDER than the LM. :o  I was almost disappointed catching LM and wanted to go find some smallies. ;D ;)

Trust me, if small mouth would be available this deep in the south, I would be fishing for them over LM any day.  Pound for pound, smallies fight harder, than any fish I know.  I used to chase em when I lived in Wash. state, would go over to the Gorge, and fish the Deschutes. But they were all pretty small.  

There is a definite difference in the two.

I hear ya, can not wait to get into some smallie action again.  Love those bronze fighting machines.  Even over Steelhead.

I've got giant versions of both within an hour or two of me. Smallies are cool, still rather catch a stud largemouth though.

Trust me, if small mouth would be available this deep in the south, I would be fishing for them over LM any day. Pound for pound, smallies fight harder, than any fish I know.

X2

Posted by: fishbear Posted on: Today at 5:29pm

Trust me, if small mouth would be available this deep in the south, I would be fishing for them over LM any day.  Pound for pound, smallies fight harder, than any fish I know.

TRADERS

Maybe not lb for lb, but ounce for ounce, I think bluegill fight harder than any fish I've ever caught. In the black bass family, no doubt smallmouth.

Maybe not lb for lb, but ounce for ounce, I think bluegill fight harder than any fish I've ever caught. In the black bass family, no doubt smallmouth.

I agree with that. I love fighting a good sized bluegill on light tackle. They fight crazy hard and taste great.