Sign in to follow this  
The Bassinator

Losing Fish On A Top Hook Soft Swimbait

I been fishing this storm wildeye shiner or whatever its called with the easy change jighead and Ive been losing some fish. I tried to bow to them when they jump but sometimes they just spit it. Is there anything I can do to increase my hookup to landing ratio or is this just the nature of swimbait fishing?

Keep the rod tip low at all times. It will help prevent the fish fom jumping.

Im assuming your giving it a good hookset. Slam that puppy home!

And just enjoy the bites your getting! Ive been getting skunked!

Sometimes it doesn't matter what you do, you're going to loose some fish. I'm not an expert on swimbaits but I've never heard of bowing to them on the jump? Seems like that would just let the bait flop around more and at least make the hook hole bigger and maybe flop out. Keep your rod low and the fish in the water if you can. I'd be trying to keep that line tight if you can. Also knowing what rod/reel/line you're using would help. If the rod is too light or a number of other things isn't right it won't help your chances of landing a fish any.

add an oil based scent attractant to the bait it will let the bait slide in the fishes mouth better and should give you a better hookset

i agree that you should NOT be bowing to the fish when it jumps. i dont know why everyones so afraid of a fish jumping, i bet many of us have lost just as many fish underwater as we have when they jumped out of water. keep the pressure on the fish the whole time, even when it jumps. i dont even adhere to the lower your rod tip philosophy either, i love to see fish jump during the fight myself. just keep the pressure on the fish constantly. when you say you bow to the fish i picture you just standing there not reeling or not working the rod to keep pressure on the fish with a bunch of slack line