I always remove the shields from spool bearings to get them as clean as possible. I have all Daiwa baitcasters. The larger spool bearing poses no problems. The problem is the small spool bearing: the one mounted in the sideplate. I have a difficult time removing these shields. Sometimes I can't get them both off.

I have started leaving one shield off this bearing. I install it with the shield facing the spool. It makes subsequent cleaning much easier.

Anybody see anything wrong with this?

I'm not a reel pro by any means. But I know a lot of people run open ceramic bearings (with no shield) and I know several others that remove only one shield. The only problem I could see is that with only one side on, you have potential for small debris to get in and be trapped in the bearing. But, if you have taken the time to remove a shield anyway, cleaning is probably not an issue for you so you should be fine. The chance of much debris getting in there is slim to start with, coupled with frequent cleanings, I don't think you'll ever have anything to worry about.

I always remove the shields from spool bearings to get them as clean as possible. I have all Daiwa baitcasters. The larger spool bearing poses no problems. The problem is the small spool bearing: the one mounted in the sideplate. I have a difficult time removing these shields. Sometimes I can't get them both off.

I have started leaving one shield off this bearing. I install it with the shield facing the spool. It makes subsequent cleaning much easier.

Anybody see anything wrong with this?

IMPO

No problem.. As often as you service your reels, it will pose no problems just (ease of servicing).

Tight Lines! :fishing1:

For the most part, it won't matter.

the side plate bearing can be a pain to remove I fish only Daiwa reels me self and I run all my bearings seal-less, I use ABEC7's from ZPI and TG Rocket and ABEC9's from a local dealer that hooks me up on price.