Sign in to follow this  
JTMONEY606

Need Some Advice On Rods And Reel Setups Please!!!

ok guys im not a newbie at bass fishing i have been fishing on and off since i was a kid, but i just this summer learned how use a baitcaster i always used zeybco 33's at first then went too spinning reels. my question is what is a good couple of rods and reels too get thats high quality good stuff in baitcasters. i have already bought a abu pro max and paired it with a vengence abu rod 6'6 its ok but the button and handle isnt very smooth you can tell its some of the low end abu garcia stuff. i was using a old quantuim the older style big reel and it is alot smoother then the pro max, i just hate how big it is now i got used too the pro max. i mostly bank fish everyday close too my apartment, what is a good setup i can get cause im gonna start selling some guns and stuff so i plan on spending around a grand or more on rods and reels. i love the shimano core and the revos in the reels and g loomis st croix looks like they really do it right, shimano and diawa i would accept also because i already have a diawa balistic 7'4 frog rod i need a reel for i plan on using 50 pound suffix braid.  im ready start using good rods and reels. any help would be great thanks.

I would suggest you look at the Johney Morris signature series reel. It costs $100+ less than compairable reels so you get more bang for your buck. For a rod I would look at Shimano Cummara, or St Croix Avid or legend tournament series rods.

I can't afford the likes of a Core or the better GLoomis and St. Croix rods so no help to you there, friend.  You definitely will be upgrading your fishing gear.  :teeth:

For your frog rod, I would consider an STX or Lews Team Gold simply because I like the higher drag values.  However, the thumb can be used if needed to pull a hog out of a weed bed.

I'm quite partial to a couple Daiwa Zillions of mine.