Sign in to follow this  
scottprice

How Do I Choose Rod Length? And Power?

i have an Abu Garcia Ambassedeur that i use for throwing big spinnerbaits, frogs and swimbaits for the most part. Im thinking of getting a 7'6"MH rod for it

I also have a Quantum Kinetic PT that i use for spinnerbaits, jigs, and cranks. Im thinking about getting a 7'M rod..

Any advice here? I never really knew how to choose proper rod length/power

Thats alright I am sure. The MH might be better for the jigs unless they are fairly light and I would probably throw the swimbaits on the M cause I like more give in a rod with those. It also might be a little tuff walking a frog with a 7'6" unless you pretty tall or high above the water.

Rod length is a matter of preference. I like shorter rods from the bank because there's trees all around me and I don't want to hit any of them. 

• Like 1

It all depends on what you like and what you feel good fishing with.  I have some 6'6" and some 7' rods.  I hardly ever use the 7' rods.