Jump to content
1simplemann

Did Ish break the rules?

Recommended Posts

So last week, Wheeler gets stuck on a sandbar in Galvaston Bay that he didn't know was there. He asks his marshal to get out so he can get off. He self reports and his weight is disqualified because the marshal is not allowed assist the angler in any way. I didn't agree with total weight disqualification but that's what BASS determined. It is what it is and JW knows the rules. This week, Ish tells this big story about how he made a wrong turn and ended up getting stuck on a sandbar. Sound familiar? Ish then tells on BASS Live that he asked his marshal to move up front so he can get the boat off the bar. He spends an hour pushing and finally gets off. He's so tired that he basically starts fishing right where he get's unstuck. He unexpectantly has a good day there and goes on to tell us that it was good mistake to make. So my question is, Isn't this a different version of JW's disqualification last week? In both cases the marshal assisted. I been stuck before and moving the weight forward definitely helps. If his marshal didn't move then Ish wasn't going to get off that bar that quickly. Where does BASS draw the line? 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have not heard about this. In JW case the marshal had to to get out of the boat and physically help get it out. If all this marshal did is move to a different spot in the boat I don't see a problem with that.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure that Wheeler's marshal got out of the boat.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I’m pretty sure I’ve seen guys ask the marshal to move to the other side when fighting a fish as well, I don’t see where this is a big deal compared to actually getting out of the boat to help ( which also shouldn’t be a

punishable offence if it means the difference between getting back to the ramp or spending the night on a sandbar).

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
56 minutes ago, Way north bass guy said:

I’m pretty sure I’ve seen guys ask the marshal to move to the other side when fighting a fish as well, I don’t see where this is a big deal compared to actually getting out of the boat to help ( which also shouldn’t be a

punishable offence if it means the difference between getting back to the ramp or spending the night on a sandbar).

This is exactly how I feel. JW's marshal did get out of the boat which did enable them to get back. In this instance it's a safety thing that should be an exception to the rule. Maybe a weight penalty but certainly not a weight disqualification. I'm not a JW fan but I thought he got a raw deal in this case.  BASS took  a narrow view IMO. But an argument could be made that by moving to the front as requested by Ish, the marshal assisted in this case as well. Ish knew he wasn't getting off anytime soon if his marshal didn't move. By moving, the marshal sped up the process therefore allowing Ish more time to fish. Also a narrow view but IMO just as narrow as the JW case. One marshal just moved further than the other.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
36 minutes ago, 1simplemann said:

 BASS took  a narrow view IMO. 

Rules are rules. If BASS makes an exception for one, they are obligated to make exceptions for all. Who's to decide that one fisherman's plight is better or worse than another's?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You are supposed to keep 1 foot in the boat or keep physical contact with it, getting out completely is a DQ.

Tom

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, slonezp said:

Rules are rules. If BASS makes an exception for one, they are obligated to make exceptions for all. Who's to decide that one fisherman's plight is better or worse than another's?

That was my point. Both were stuck on a sandbar. One marshal moved out of the boat and the other moved in the boat. Both were able to free themselves because  their marshals moved. If JW got a disqualification why not IM? Clearly IM got "assistance" from his marshal by moving to the front.  It doesn't matter now anyway, I got a rule clarification from a marshal. Apparently anglers are allowed to reposition their marshals in the boat and moving them to the front is within the rules. I'm good with that. I simply just wanted to know what the rule was. Thanks to all that replied.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, 1simplemann said:

That was my point. Both were stuck on a sandbar. One marshal moved out of the boat and the other moved in the boat. Both were able to free themselves because  their marshals moved. If JW got a disqualification why not IM? Clearly IM got "assistance" from his marshal by moving to the front.  It doesn't matter now anyway, I got a rule clarification from a marshal. Apparently anglers are allowed to reposition their marshals in the boat and moving them to the front is within the rules. I'm good with that. I simply just wanted to know what the rule was. Thanks to all that replied.

That's basically it - don't like the "openess" of interpretation as written myself, but it is what it is...this year 😉

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No.  One got out and physically helped the angler, the other didn't...That's the difference.  The marshal moves around the boat all day, so going up front is no big deal.  When I was a marshal they specifically told us we couldn't get out to help.  

 

Sitting on the front deck is something every marshal is able to do, getting out and physically pushing is something that some marshals might not be able to do - That's why it's different.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Logan S said:

No.  One got out and physically helped the angler, the other didn't...That's the difference.  The marshal moves around the boat all day, so going up front is no big deal.  When I was a marshal they specifically told us we couldn't get out to help.  

 

Sitting on the front deck is something every marshal is able to do, getting out and physically pushing is something that some marshals might not be able to do - That's why it's different.

At the time that I asked the question I was unaware that marshal actually helped JW get off the sandbar. Such action is clearly against the rules and I understand the weight disqualification although personally I think the penalty is a little steep since IMO it was safety situation but that's just my opinion. I thought JW did all the work himself and simply had the marshal get out so JW could free himself.  I received a reply from JW's marshal and apparently they discussed this very same issue. Both were similar situation but different circumstances. An angler is allowed to reposition his marshal in the boat so Ish was well within the rules. Thanks for the reply. Let's let this thread die now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Y'all correct me if I'm wrong!

 

I've not the rules recently but it was at one time neither angler could leave the boat.

 

It's also my understanding the "Marshall" can not pass a line even with the console. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 minutes ago, Catt said:

Y'all correct me if I'm wrong!

 

I've not the rules recently but it was at one time neither angler could leave the boat.

 

It's also my understanding the "Marshall" can not pass a line even with the console. 

You got me curious about the rules so i looked it up.

 

Here are a couple quotes from the rules.

 

"When idling in shallow areas, anglers are allowed to ask Marshals to move their sitting position as long as the Marshal can place his feet in the bottom of the boat."

 

"During the competition days, competitors must not depart the boat to land fish or to make the boat more accessible to fishing waters"

 

"Competitors are allowed to leave the boat to retrieve a lure."

 

"Competitors and Marshals are allowed to leave the boat and seek safe shelter in bad weather where danger may be imminent"

 

 

 

 

 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • fishing

    bass fishing

    fishing forum

    fishing rods

    fishing rods

    fishing rods


    fishing rods

    fishing reels

    bass fish

    fishing poles

    Truck Caps

    fishing reels
    fishing reels

    fishing

    bass fish

    fish for bass
    fish

×