TotalNoob

Too Early for Underspin (or smaller underspins?)

Water temp is literally just now in the low 70s on a regular basis. I'm starting to see some shad-type activity and I'm catching my better fish around the areas where I'm seeing little surface bubbling and shimmering occuring. 

Last year in the first week of Sept I measured a couple gizzard shad at different parts of the lake on the same day both right at 2". 

I've read where gizzard shad can grow up to 1"/month. 

I'm trying to determine how to use this information to best size my swimbaits and underspins (or whether to even throw an underspin). 

I can't be sure the shad are even 1" long yet. I'm not seeing them all over the surface and shore like last fall. In fact I haven't seen any. But I am seeing some random bubbling/glittering on the surface at times that I'm positive is shad activity. 

What kinds of swimbait rigs would you be trying first given this information. This is my first year throwing swimbaits and/or underspins for the full year (I began throwing underspins last Fall). 

Looking for any feedback/thoughts that might help steer my thinking in the right direction. 

We're on opposite sides of the country but I'll let you know what has worked for me. The lake I fish I recently measured some small minnows around 4". I've been throwing the bigger Keitech swing impact fat 4.8-5.8" without bites. However, when I switch to the 3.8" and the 4" swing impact/easy shiner, the bass choke it. I've caught all my 3lb+ bass on these smaller swimbaits. 

Moral of the story, I try to match the length, girth, and color of the small baitfish as best I can and it seems to have given me the best results.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, NorthE97 said: