Sign in to follow this  
hawghunter1744

Perfect reel for dad

I LOVE fishing. Dad is trying to get to LOVE fishing. He fishes with me every single weekend and has taken strides in improvement. This past winter he was even able to upgrade to being able to use a baitcast reel as well as spinning. However, the baitcast reel he uses is pathetic to say the least. I've been fishing with a baitcast for several years and I still as unable to cast his over 20 feet without a backlash. I have a Quantum Accurist and Pflueger Purist and can launch a 10" ribbontail a long long long ways with no sign of backlash. For his upcoming birthday, I want to buy him a nice reel so that he doesn't constantly backlash. So after this long paragraph, my question is are there any particular reels that are made specifically for casting without backlashing??

All of them!    :)

If you like your reels, get him the one you like best.

Otherwise, the Shimano Citica is on sale for around $79.

This is a great real and an outstanding value.

8-)

BPS Extreme 79, will go on sale shortly for 59 , Excellent reel for the money.

I LOVE fishing. Dad is trying to get to LOVE fishing. He fishes with me every single weekend and has taken strides in improvement. This past winter he was even able to upgrade to being able to use a baitcast reel as well as spinning. However, the baitcast reel he uses is pathetic to say the least. I've been fishing with a baitcast for several years and I still as unable to cast his over 20 feet without a backlash. I have a Quantum Accurist and Pflueger Purist and can launch a 10" ribbontail a long long long ways with no sign of backlash. For his upcoming birthday, I want to buy him a nice reel so that he doesn't constantly backlash. So after this long paragraph, my question is are there any particular reels that are made specifically for casting without backlashing??

Like RW said  , it's usually the person  , not the reel. Just buy a quality reel and have him keep practising.