Sign in to follow this  
harpoon

Rods and Reels, Noob Style..

Ok Noob here, to this forum and to fishing. I started fishing again a few years ago when my kids were old enough to bring them and teach them what little I know.

I just bought a fishing boat and wanted to get more serious this year and after reading many thread in this category my head just about exploded off of my shoulders.   soo many different makes and models and wow these are expensive.

My experience has been to go to Walmart and just grab a set that looked adequate, I never knew about all the different aspects of a rod, like the tip sensitivity, grade of the rod ( medium/heavy), the different lengths. etc.

There are rods specific to what reel you are using?  spinner or caster??  and what the heck is the difference between them?

Some have said to go and try out some rods to see what feels good. Again, the only place I know of around me would be Walmart. What types of places are you referring too?  I live in Massachusetts just below the NH border.

So I guess any decent name brand rod and reel would be much better then what I have been using, I basically do small to medium lake fishing with fake worms and some small lures. but have been reading alot about "crank bait".

Can you point me in a direction for a medium level rod and reel that is sub $100.00

Also is the money better spent in the rod or the reel?  I am seeing that those can be very expensive as well.

And can you also explain the differences in these reel types that would be great as well, I guess I would like to know why I would by one type over the other.

thanks alot guys and keep in mind I am very new here hence all of the questions.

I appreciate your input.

Harpoon

First of all, you need to spend some time reading through the

BassResource Library at the top of the Page: Fishing Articles

and Tacklebox. This is a sample:

http://www.bassresource.com/beginner/beginner.html

Here is an overview for rod & reel selection: