Sign in to follow this  
reddragon

what to look for when buying a used rod??

hey guys need some help again, what do i look for when buying a used rod??? also would be great if you guys can give me feedback on this rod i might purchase, i want the rod more for weightless senkos, t-rig, c-rig, mostly plastics with a little spinnerbait, swimbait here and there...

G-Loomis

GL3 MBR 783C 6'6"

price 130 used

also i've been looking for a reel for a long time now too anyhelp would be nice, baitcast about 100-150 and also user friend im new never tried baitcast before... btw i have several questions and threads about rods and reels already sorry if it annoys people im just new to this and need feedback, feedback is always better than written reviews users always know the truth about the items, thanks!

Over the internet you takes your chances, know the seller well...

Viewing in person....Off the top of my head...

Cosmetics, the blank is it in good shape, straight no warp, any bad nicks, missing any thread coating around the guides.

Guides are they straight, no bent frames, any nicks in the shock rings, again the threads and coatings

Cork is it dirty, is the pit filler falling out.

EVA is it still in good shape....

Just a quick .02¢

Tight Lines!!

On top of Reel mechs great tips I might add.

Make sure you know ahead of time what and how the seller is going to ship the rod in before he ships it.

I've bought rod lots before and the seller merely stuck all the rods into a tube, capped it and shipped.  No packing material was used at all!   ::)

The rods showed up with a tip missing and a trigger broken off a rod.

Personally, if it's a single rod I'd insist on PVC 2" schedule 40 along with sufficient packing material.  Since I started using that on my own shipments I've yet to have a complaint.  Cardboard tubes can be iffy.