Sign in to follow this  
jhow2319

Pflueger Purist

Hey guys, I was at gander moutain today and this reel caught my eye. I am a big pflueger fan because I own the Trion LP. I am about to purchase a new reel within the next couple of weeks and I need some help on a new reel. I am considering the Pflueger Purist, the new Bass Pro extreme, the old Bass Pro extreme, and the bass pro rick clunn signature series reel. Let me know what you guys think.

I too am a Pflueger fan, I have a President, 3 Patriarchs, an Asaro, and a Supreme. As much as I hate to say it, I would advise against the Purist. I have no personal experience with the Purist, but from just feeling the reel, it doesn't seem like it would hold up to abuse for very long. Any of the BPS reels, Extreme and up, would be a good purchase. If you would like to stay with Pflueger and shop on ebay, I would suggest takingy a look at the Supremes. I bought a NIB Supreme for $65 last year for spinnerbaits and really like the reel. It looks like there are a few on there now going for $99-109. It is a tad larger than current top of the line reels but is well worth the ebay price if you are interested.

I am with BRR here, he hit the nail on the head. The Purist and Eschelon are really crappy reels, I don't know why they do not discontinue them

I use only Pflueger Bait casting reels and I am sure you will be more than pleased with any reel from the Trion up to the Patriarch, stay away from anything below them in the line up

I cracked an Eschleons Graphite Body, and I have used a Purist a couple of times, I wasn't feeling these reels :-/