Sign in to follow this  
BassinWill301

Lost Drag Power?

I recently took apart the right side of my revo sx to oil it and clean it.  After I put it back together it seems that i have lost alot of my drag power.  I have to tighten the drag all the way down, and anything less then that, it is too loose.  I have no idea what is going on, and any help would be appreciated.

Sounds like you may have gotten some oil on the drag washers when you relubed it. I'm not an expert so I'm not real sure of how you can fix this but I'd take it back apart and clean off each drag washer thoroughly and put it back together DRY (other than making sure the gears and bearings are greased and oiled that is).

I have an old Quantum reel I recently took apart to lube up and I discovered that it had grease on the drag washers that I didn't know about before. That explained why the drag was so loose in it when I used it last so I cleaned it up as best I could and reassembled it. It feels a lot better but I haven't fished with it since.

Check the two washers on the gear shaft. Lots of people put them back on the shaft incorrectly. If you oiled the drag that could be the problem. Use the correct drag grease not oil.

Check the two washers on the gear shaft. Lots of people put them back on the shaft incorrectly. If you oiled the drag that could be the problem. Use the correct drag grease not oil.

You talking about the two washers that look bent??  They go back together opposing each other so when you tighten the drag it creates a tension like a spring.  Right??  

Correct, like this: ()

Alright I have the washers on right, do you think just wiping the shaft and the washers off with a towel will help or not?  I do not have any grease so is it okay if I do not put grease on it?