Sign in to follow this  
Kingbass43

Best rods for tournaments

So i was gonna start fishing tournaments hopefully soon and im used to a spinning reel and im not very good with a baitcaster what should i do i see most people in tournaments using bait casters and some people say that some reel are better for certain lures and some people say it doesnt matter please help me!!!! http://www.bassresource.com/fishing-forum/Templates/Forum/default/huh.gif

Thanks!

Do what you feel comfortable with.  I do recommend giving a baitcast rig a shot.  St Croix's Mojo series is a great place to start for a rod.  They are labeled as technique specific to help you pick the right rod for your tournaments, and the price can't be beat.

Practice practice practice.  Even the most seasoned casters experience backlashes too.

Even the most seasoned casters experience backlashes too.

This is very true but it happens so infrequently that you learn to not fear the reel.  You can get away with fishing spinning setups in tourneys but I would recommend learning how to use a baitcaster.  Its just good to be versatile.

Go to your strength but I would suggest to learn bait casting if you are serous about tournaments.

You can be more accurate with baitcasters, take more casts in the same amount of time then a spinning combo, better drag system, and can handle the slop better then a spinning combo. IMO

Go to your strength but I would suggest to learn bait casting if you are serous about tournaments.

2nd.

Learn to be versatile, especially if you are going as a non boater. I think it is almost required to be able to use both set ups. Everything can be done using either set up, but many techniques are steered towards either baitcasting or spinning, and you should match it to maximize the potential.