Sign in to follow this  
twitchfish

Shakey Head Set-up

What should one be looking for in a Shakey Head Set-up? What power rod, reel, line is most conducive to this technique?

The reason I ask, is I have what I consider alot of gear that I am not utilizing optimally. Of course, I want to buy more stuff to hold and love and call my own, but I want to know if I can double time something I already have.

Thanks in advance, Twitch

Shakey head and Drop-shot setup:

7' Compre spinning rod Meduim power

Old Diawa spinning reel (don't know the name of it)

8 lb. Berkley 100% Flourocarbon

I am no expert on shakyhead fishing, but I have used that technique a lot this year. I use a 6'10" spinning rod that has an extra-fast tip and can handle lures from 1/8 oz. to 5/16 oz. in weight.  I heard Jeff Kreit say that he uses only 1/16 oz. & 1/8 oz. shakyhead jigs, because if he went any heavier, there probably would be a better lure choice that the fish would bite.  So make sure to pick a rod that can cast comfortably those light lures, but has enough backbone to drive home the hook and get those fish in.

IMO shakey heading needs a faster rod than drop shotting. A rod with decent back bone to set the hook and move fish, but with a soft tip for utilizing the 1/16 and 1/8 oz heads.

For me, despite my thinking that Loomis rods are generally overrated is that their SHR rods are spot on. I have the heavier of the two I think it's the SHR 822 and it's perfect.

The 8030 Pflueger Supreme makes a nice light, balanced setup.

For me, despite my thinking that Loomis rods are generally overrated is that their SHR rods are spot on. I have the heavier of the two I think it's the SHR 822 and it's perfect.

The 8030 Pflueger Supreme makes a nice light, balanced setup.

That is my exact Shakyhead Set-up (both rod and reel).

it's a finesse tactic - think light tackle

i use the 7'M Pro Qualifier spinning combo from BPS and 8lbs flouro.