Sign in to follow this  
Daddyodo

Backlash city!

Went out today and tried out my new Daiwa Procaster.Got a lot of backlashes because i am new to this. I did not get anywhere near the distance or accuracy that I get from my spinning reel. I kept having my lures dive bomb to the left. I got the hang of thumbing to cut down on backlash but am not very proficient at casting'yet. tried over hand and side armed with the same results. I do like it though, very smooth. Any ideas as to what i am doing wrong? I played with the spool tightener and drag but nuttin seemed to help. Am I thumbing the spool too long on my casts/ ::)

Did you by chance turn any of the brakes on? Because drag has nothing to do with casting.

I tried the brake setting starting from 10 being the highest to 0. At 6 and above absolutely no distance. Once I backed off it got better but still not what I would call good. I think the furthest I got was 25 30 yards at best with no accuracy.

Your 25-30 yards is pretty good considering thats ~90 ft.

If your casting significantly short loosen your spool tension until when you press down the thumb bar your lure drops slowly. Then since you said your brakes are too high above six leave your brakes at about 5. The rest is about educating your thumb  :) And a reason your lure may be dive bombing to the right is because the release times from spinning reels to casting are totally different.

There are three major ways to cast a baitcaster.

1.  Overhead. Not good. Will cause spool to turn very fast and cause a backlash. You may be able to master this technique by using your thumb and stopping spool when bait hits the water.

2.  Underhand Roll. Great cast. Reel bait to tip of rod and then use an underhand flip motion to cast bait.

3. Side Arm Cast. Best method. Be careful not to have bait hit anything when casting as if you do you will have a Backlash from Hell.