Sign in to follow this  
slickdub

Burke Lake...

Heading over there on tomorrow May 15th, Anyone fish there yet this month... anyone know what the biggins are hittin'  ;) ... Had some luck with dark spinner baits at some near by ponds so most likely going to start with them.

Thanks for your help...

Yeah im a newbie on this site keep your hazing to a min...  ;D j/k haze as much as you want.

I don't usually fish Burke anymore because of all the fishing pressure so I can't really help you. Send me a PM if you want directions to some other lakes in that area.

Friends were there a week or so ago and hand luck on minnow type jerk baits. Not sure how they were fishing them but they caught a few small keepers and some decent sized walleye.

Fantastic park for family outings, but not so hot on fishing (in my opinion only...)!  Try Fountainhead, your chances of catching a biggin will go up exponentially! ;)

It's funny how Burke is ranked #2 in bass fishing behind the Occoquan but noboby seems to be able to catch fish there (myself included). There has to be a way.  ;D

Slick, with Northern Virginia traffic all I can suggest is that you leave home at 2:30 AM and hope you get to Burke by sunrise.  ;D   ;D   ;D

It's funny how Burke is ranked #2 in bass fishing behind the Occoquan but noboby seems to be able to catch fish there (myself included). There has to be a way. ;D

Those ratings are based on electrosampling, not catch rates. The fish are there, they are just difficult to catch. I am confident that this is because the fish in Burke Lake are just smarter than your average bass.

I bet there is an excellent forage base in that lake.  Well fed fish are loathe to bite.

It's funny how Burke is ranked #2 in bass fishing behind the Occoquan but noboby seems to be able to catch fish there (myself included). There has to be a way. ;D