Sign in to follow this  
tyrius.

Tourney tactics question...

I don't get why an angler would "manage" their fish?  For example, I've read some comments (on the Classics blog) where pro's won't try and catch all of their fish in one day, sandbag it.

What could possibly be the benefit of doing this?  If you catch that fish on Day 1 or Day 2 it still goes into your total weight.  Plus, if you decide to leave it and the weather turns, someone else catches it, it moves on, etc then it's gone.

Anyone have a logical explanation for not catching every pound possible?

Here's an example that kind of explains it. Let's say there is a theoretical fishing hole that has 20 bass. Of those 20 bass, 5 are 5lbers, 5 are 4lbers, 5 are 3lbers and 5 are 2lbers. I can only weigh five fish per day. If I stay at that hole and beat up those fish all day and I am a professional level angler, I might manage to catch all 20 fish on that hole in the course of the day (hypothetically). Now, the heaviest limit I can get off of that hole is 25lbs (5 5lbers) but by catching all of the fish in that hole, I have turned off all of those fish for the following day, meaning if I go back to that hole I will probably get skunked. If this was a two day tournie, I would have 25lbs for the first day and 0lbs for the second day, giving me a total of 25lbs. Now, if I manage my fish the first day, I can catch a solid 15lb limit, leaving about half the fish for the next day. The next day, I can go back to that hole , fish for the rest of those bass and hopefully put together another 15lb bag, bringing my total to 30, which beats the 25lb bag where I didn't manage my fish. I know that was a pretty crude hypothetical example but I hope that kind of explained it a little bit.  :D