Sign in to follow this  
fishingJ

When bass strike?

Theres not.

Im sure everyone on here can agree that they have had hits/catches when the bait hits the water, initial fall, during retrieve, and even when pulling the lure back up out of the water (that seems to happen to me often since Im paying attention to my next cast at that point!)

It will depend on many factors: fish location, fish mood, lure type, etc.

Guest the_muddy_man

That depends on a lot of things. First: how agressive are they hitting that day Sometimes they hook themselves, sometimes you barley notice the hit at all Second the type lure you are using and Im far from an expert here Go back at look at the fishing articles on top there is lots of useful stuff there The 2 things I learned in this area is with topwaters not to pull the bait when you see the take I try to wait until I can really feel the weight of the fish on, I still dont have this right . And with plastic worms and senkos Sometimes you dont feel the hit but if you watch your line it will be doing somehing weird Like you know it should be falling and its moving sideways . Try those articles and some of the more experienced members thats how Im learning

Thers actually a whole lot of more things involved but Im not well versed in them so Ill leave it at that

fishingJ,

First off, Welcome to the forum.

There are so many scenrio's when reeling in your lures.     Can you give specific details.

The type of lure, structure/cover  being fished, ie....grass, lily pads, boat docks, trees.

Time of day, what was the cadence of your retrieve?

Each time you catch a bass, you try to analyze what just happened, or what did the bass just tell you.

Example-  You just cast past a boat dock by ten feet using a Mann's -4,   While retreiving, you run your lure into the boat dock pole under the water and continue to retrieve with no success.