Sign in to follow this  
Btech

Keepin' it Reel

After hours on end of reading about reels im still stuck as to which one would be best for me. I fish at least 4X a week and stay out all Weekend Bass fishing. I also am thinking about hunting carp and some large Catfish in the Catawba river here in North Carolina. While bass fishing i use mostly Soft bait, and am looking to expand out and try some other types of bait, can anyone recomend a new reel as mine was a handme down that is now worn out and breaking. its an openface with the bail wire (I dont know much on the names but am researching " Spinning?" ) Im a beginner but spend alot of time on the water and want to make sure the one i buy will be good for the next year or so. Budget would be arround 50 - 75 tops... A buddy reccomended the Uglystick pole and may buy one (Unless another is sugested). Any help would be appriciated

Reel: Shimano Symtre 2500 series can be found for around $50.

http://www.cabelas.com/prod-1/0023116118273a.shtml

Others will give you suggestions on some good,

inexpensive rods,but at least look at something

other than an Ugly Stick.

Be sure to keep an eye on our "Flea Market". You'll

find some killer deals in that section of the Forum.

8-)

Btech, welcome to the forums. Do you have a budget figure for the rod? If you can spend $75 - 100 on a rod along with the Symetre that RW suggested you'll have yourself a decent combo.  There are a few rods in this price range that perform well.

My Pole i would spend about 30 - 50 (If that right less on pole more on reel???) I fish mostly small ponds and lakes but would like to start hitting some larger bodies soon. all from land right now trying to perfect that before i lookinto a johnboat. I dont want to go too high end so i can save some money for tackle and beer :)  So no Ugly stick huh.. ok Thought that was kinda trendy.