Sign in to follow this  
Fisher of Men

Hunter education poll

As a hunter education instructor, I was shocked to hear that the new minimum age to take a hunter education course is now 9 years old in Texas, not 12 years old as was the minimum for many years now. This means that, technically, a parent can legally turn a 9 year old loose with a firearm to go hunting on their own. IMO, I think this is way too young for a child to be hunting on their own. I am sure there are many 9 year old children out their who can hunt with the best of them, but I would question the maturity level of most kids this age.

As an instructor, I personally am hesitant to sign off on these youngsters. I would feel really lousy if one of them had an accident on my watch.

What do you all think? :-?

Agreed, but with adult supervison, nine might be old enoungh. My son went "hunting" several times with me when he was eight, carrying an unloaded 22. At nine he got to go on a few more with his unloaded gun. We spent some time target shooting and had a big time.

At age ten, we both went through hunter training! Man, that was a great time for sons and dads. That year marked his first trip with a loaded gun. His weapon was a single shot 20 gauge shotgun, but by then he had fired hundreds of rounds, trap shooting. All and all, it was a great experience and as the years have come and gone, my son has become a very skilled outdoorsman.

8-)

Too young for unsupervised hunting.

Hesitant? I would want nothing to do with it. A 9 year old should not be in the woods alone, hunting with a loaded weapon. Here is a good question, if the child gets lost or something happens, will the parents be prosecuted for a crime?. Like neglect (middle of the woods, alone, in winter), child indangerment, ect. ect.

There are a few more things I would love to say but I'm sure someone else has the exact opposite view.

A 9 yo child should not be left alone for any reason. Let alone, to hunt by himself.