Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Glenn

Championship Team Disqualified For Use Of Alabama Rig

Recommended Posts

Rules are the rules..........follow them or get the boot. 1st place or 50th, doesn't matter. If they didn't know the rules before going in, that's unfortunate, but no excuse. If they did know, and violated them anyways, shame on them. I wonder how they got caught. I didn't see anything in the link that told that part.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with the DQ.. The rule seems clear enough to me. Tournament Director did his job & duty. The team broke the rule, and were caught.

Seems straight forward to me.... The rule is against the A-rig. A fisherman must know the rules, and IMO must follow them all..

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sucks but it doesn't look like the bite was any good to start with. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hopefully, if the A-Rig being outlawed in these tournaments is a recent move, the tournament officials are making a point of stressing that at the meetings and elsewhere. Not that ignorance is an excuse, particularly when it comes to a controversial bait. I know if I planned on using an A-Rig, I'd triple check the rules to make sure it was okay given recent events. So it's on these guys, whether they didn't know any better, or did, and used it anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No excuses.

 

But note to everyone else...The A-Rig is VERY effective!

 

 

 

 

:santa-107:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A DQ is a DQ doesn't really matter what the violation is.

 

But I'd like to know how what bait they were fishing came to light.

 

Did they simply announce it or did a fellow competitor see them fishing it and inform tournament officials ?

 

A-Jay

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A DQ is a DQ doesn't really matter what the violation is.

 

But I'd like to know how what bait they were fishing came to light.

 

Did they simply announce it or did a fellow competitor see them fishing it and inform tournament officials ?

 

A-Jay

I would guess the latter

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow, they fail a question on a polygraph? On the administrators opinion? Concerning the C7 rule..

Wow, this sounds fishy!

I guess I'm shocked, I didn't know fisherman had to take a polygraph, Im thinking the NSA has infiltrated the bass fishing ranks...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just about every tournament i have ever seen has a polygraph section in the rules. I am guessing there was some reason they were polygraphed though and probably someone ratted them out...

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For years B.A.S.S. has had a very strict rules policy and its been common knowledge that the use of the A rig is illegal and becoming more illegal thoughout B.A.S.S. trickling down to even the federation nation tournaments.

 

my personal opinion is the A rig should be banned by every state in the US. if you cant catch fish with one bait you have no reason throwing 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

DQ is a DQ.  But I'm also wondering what they were using.  If it was one of the newer Booya Teaser rigs, under BASS rules anything that resembles an a-rig attached to a single bait is a DQ.  So, again it's still a DQ.  If they did use something like the teaser rigs and thought they were fishing within the rules, if you're fishing a tournament and not sure, maybe you should ask before you get out and start fishing to make sure you're within the rules of the event, not just the regulations within that state.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For years B.A.S.S. has had a very strict rules policy and its been common knowledge that the use of the A rig is illegal and becoming more illegal thoughout B.A.S.S. trickling down to even the federation nation tournaments.

 

my personal opinion is the A rig should be banned by every state in the US. if you cant catch fish with one bait you have no reason throwing 5

I'm glad it's just your opinion. I enjoy fishing them when I go to a state they're legal. It seems to be an all or nothing bait when I've fished them, either the best thing going, or I can hardly get a bite on them. They're still just a bait, if you aren't around fish or using them correctly they're no more effective than anything else. I'm glad they aren't allowed in most tournaments though, not much fun watching guys slinging A rigs all day. I've never fished a bait that draws a more vicious strike with such regularity though. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I read a later post that they were disqualified for failing a polygraph test question.

 

I have not heard what the question was.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • fishing

    fishing forum

    fishing rods

    fishing reels

    fishing

    bass fish

    fish for bass
    fish

×