pwahmy

Stained Water Jerkbaits

Okay I know a lot of people shy away from using jerkbaits in stained-muddy water, but if you do what's your favorite color and brand to throw? Thanks. 

I asked a similar question a few months ago - if I can find it with the new format I'll post a link.  

Stained water is a relative term to 'your' body of water but I throw them as often as I can.  I've only consistently been throwing them for about 6 months so I am new to them.  But I use whites like French Pearl or yellow/blacks like Firetiger or similar name.  Various clown colors as well.

They defiantly work better in clearer water and I certainly wouldn't use them in muddy water.

The LUCKY CRAFT Pointer 100DD - 251 Nishiki color has proven effective many times.

Tip - during periods of reduced visibility keep the bait near the bottom.

A-Jay

56840eb625aa1_LUCKYCRAFTPointer-251Nishi

• Like 6

What kind of jerk baits are you talking about ? there are soft and hard.

3 minutes ago, Raul said:

What kind of jerk baits are you talking about ? there are soft and hard.

you would recommend different colors depending on whether or not it is a hard or soft bait?

Nishiki or one of the Crack colors that LC makes.

• Like 1

I assume you are referring to hard jerkbaits so, MB Vision 110 or 110 JR in Clown or Matt Tiger depending on depth and time of year. Occasionally I'll throw a smithwick suspending rogue in clown on spinning gear in water clarity such as you are referring to. 

I have a couple I use in stained water. Nishiki pointer & a bright lime Vision 110. Those are the ones I have had luck with when visibility is low.

1 hour ago, bigfruits said:

you would recommend different colors depending on whether or not it is a hard or soft bait?

What do colors have to do with soft or hard ?

Here's a whole thread running right now on choosing visible lure colors.  The general rule, is to go either bright, or with a dark black/purple/blue profile as visibility becomes more limited.